Early morning walk in the kopjies…

Before dawn, I decided to climb a hill and wait for the sunrise. I got sidetracked however, clambering up the kopjie and the sun took SO long to come up! When it does burst over the horizon, it picks up the reds, oranges yellows, and shades the lichen on the rocks pink.

This plant in the foreground (above) is prickly, with a velvet-like leaf, but I loved the way it seemed to be gold-plated where the sun touched it.

And then I went for a walk along this road, heading south, so the shadows where lying across the road.

I love that mukwa tree (the tall one on the left.)

I leave you today, with this photo – pssst – I think those rocks are keen on each other.

12 thoughts on “Early morning walk in the kopjies…

  1. I continue to love your stories that jog my memories of an innocent bliss filled childhood on dusty paths and climbing kopjies and loving the bush in all its forms. Strangely – I did not really notice the flowers until I went back home after a couple of years in Oz… where the bush is quite flowery.
    I used to say to Ozzie friends…”we didn’t have many flowers….”
    But of course it was just me… I learned to look for flowers in Oz because – there were so few animals here, and when I went home my eyes were wide open to Zim flowers …
    All creation is amazing and delightful…!

  2. Fabulous! love your trees, kopjies, rocks, sandy roads – I forward your pics to other members of my family – we all miss Bulawayo and surrounds, so much. Please keep on walking and clicking! you have a devoed following.

    • Thank you – I have hundreds of photos, its just getting them into some format where people can view them. I dont always have good internet, so have to schedule posts. Not really my strong point, Im rather a spontaneous person

  3. Love the, “smooching rocks”, at the bottom of the series! As per your trade-mark, just adore those tracks winding between the trees. Thank you once again.

Leave a comment