Elephants at Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge, near Hwange National Park, is one of my favourite places in the area, especially for viewing elephant, close up. The hide, close to a salt lick, allows me to watch them interact with each other as well as safely take photos. I’m pretty scared of elephants, so this is a must!

Luckily they wanted us to site a borehole, so we were able to stay overnight!

P1160224

Its pretty exclusive, so I never feel crowded when I visit there. Below is a pic of one of the rooms. (Love the stilts!)

P1160225

The two photos below were taken of the elephants eating salt, both taken at night.

P1160245

P1160243

I took a short video – I was fascinated to see that they never stand on their trunks when digging!

If ever you have a chance, stay at Ivory Lodge – its an experience.

5 thoughts on “Elephants at Ivory Lodge

Leave a Reply

