Impala…

These are such lovely little creatures and excellent portraiture candidates!

Impala

I took these in Gona re Zhou. I love the shine on the grass. Impala

These two were taken very early in the morning, also in Gona re Zhou. We went there in June and yet all the game was in good condition.Impala

The light really shines on their golden coats…

Impala

These (below) were taken in Zebula (golf estate) Impala

It was wet and raining when I took this photo (above.) Poor little guys didn’t look very happy at all (maybe they didn’t like the babysitter!) The glory of a place like Zubula is you can ride right up to game on the cute electric golf cart…the animals are obviously used to gawping, camera toting golfers! Impala

I took the three following images in the Khama Rhino sanctuary in Serowe…Impala

The above photo taken at midday, the animals sheltering under the trees…Impala

I couldn’t resist putting this guy up in an early ‘portraiture’ post…he is lovely. Back in the day, on the farm, someone his age would be a candidate for the pot – a young male we used to call a ‘spikey!’ We had lots of them who hung about in stag herds and since they were not breeding age…

Impala

This last image was taken late in the evening in the Khama Rhino Sanctuary – I love the light…

4 thoughts on “Impala…

  1. Lovely animals and many found all over. In Kruger last year, my guide said they are either called Kokkorots (Cockroaches as so many) or the the MacDonalds of the bushveld because of the black “M” on their behinds. Think I like the second one 🙂 Gentle pretty and docile. Lovely share. Thank you.

    • In Mana pools (the only National Park in the country that has the big five and allows you to walk without a guide) we had pleasure in walking in amongst them. They are rather like sheep there, small and in large herds, but totally unconcerned about us…I was more concerned that a lion hunting them might not notice little old me walking in them! I admit that I didn’t take much advantage of getting out of the car! I have a very healthy respect for wildlife! I think I still like the young spikey – I love his big eyes, and healthy horns! Thanks for the visit

Leave a Reply

