Telephone wires and transformers…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Cultural Interference” is what I usually call telephone wires and pylons. I can hardly take a photo these days without a cell phone tower intruding somewhere. But I feel in the above pic, that the telephone wires enhance the impression of distance. Its so very hard to show the endless straight roads we drive on in Africa.

Telephone wires and transformersThe above pic was taken in the late afternoon, looking directly into the sun…and Im surprised the camera managed to do anything at all with all that light…our big problem was the “cultural interference!” No matter where we went, there were cables…I eventually hid behind the plant on the right, and only one wire…The pic below was taken shortly after…

Telephone wires and transformers

 

The sun on the left in the above photo…I also managed to hide behind a tree to take it…

And in the photo below…it hasn’t come up at all (hey, I’m allowed to boast when I get out of bed before sunrise!)

Telephone wires and transformers

The wind farms in the Eastern Cape are pictured above. Each tower is fitted with a red flashing light that doesn’t bother me that much – I was brought up in an age when a red flashing light was a helicopter or something exciting like that!

 

2 thoughts on “Telephone wires and transformers…

  1. I guess they call the wires and pylons progress…I like the wind farms. They get a bit neurotic about them over here. Holland and Belgium paint them pretty colours in some places. before sunrise – good on you šŸ™‚

    • Like and idiot, I told everyone to wake me up for the sunrise – I would go up into the sand river and take early morning shots…well, it didn’t happen, but I did get up for this one!
      I don’t call the pylons progress, they are an eyesore. In some parts of SA the cell phone companies have decorated the towers with branches and such to disguise them, and I approve – they look better. But don’t worry, I have managed to learn some photoshop!
      I’m not sure what I think of the wind farms – Im still deciding, but I do know what I think of the nuclear power stations…(PS the SA government want to build one at Oyster Bay – very close to where this photo was taken) Eeeuw

Leave a Reply

