Guineafowl…

 

GuineafowlGuineafowl

5 thoughts on “Guineafowl…

    • We had them as kids – they can be very protective – I remember riding my horse, my little sister behind me, double donkey. One flew up at us, I ducked and she scratched my sister – going for her eyes. She still has the scars on her cheeks from that Guineafowl – (looks like a pukka African!

      • My pal Janine in Gordons Bay, Cape – is on an estate with a wetland. They breed in the bush & daily march past for scraps. They started off with lots of kids & as each day passed there were less 😦 One morning we had a massive southwester & kids went flying past….On the farm in Rhodesia, the racket until they all settled in the tree at night was deafening. Mum had a Arga stove, so every now and then one would end up in a pot in the slow cooking section. The feathers us kids used for art work. Here close to the airport some bright spark hatched a few but sadly they wanted to wander in the forest & over the roads – caused some nasty swerves on these narrow Uk roads, so he had to get rid of them. Sad.

      • The last few weeks in Vereeniging, I have had them making that noise they have when nesting – right outside the window – lovely.
        I can’t imagine a guineafowl in the UK poor sodden creature!

      • I nearly crashed my car the first morning I heard the noise. I shouted Guinea Fowl and the engineer with said “Whaaaaat?” 🙂 We had a fantastic long & super warm summer so they were okay but silly things did not stop wandering….

Leave a Reply

