Storms River Mouth suspension bridge…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’d heard all about this bridge, and was certain I couldn’t walk over it. I’m scared of heights.

I wasn’t always scared of heights – I climbed trees as a lightie – then one day, walking along the top of a tall wall – I was attacked by vertigo and I’ve never recovered.

Having survived the Sauer Bridge, a distance upstream, I decided to give this one a go…and it was easy peasy. I’m thinking perhaps with moving water, my vertigo has no point of reference to adhere to. My brain appears happy with moving water, but not moving ground! Go figure…

I took this photo from the middle of the bridge, looking up the river mouth…worth braving the bridge hey? Look at the lovely yellow rocks the area is famous for.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And do I have proof? Yup. Look at me – no hands!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere is a cute first-world board-walk to get to the suspension bridges….maybe one day there will be one to Inanke Cave in the Matopos???OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASome of the views from here are stunning – I had to poke the camera through the forest though…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALook at this luminous green colour on the rocks. The waves boom into here at high tide. (PS – this is also taken off one of the suspension bridges…boast boast…)OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis view is from the boardwalk – high up against the hillside. It got pretty stormy after four in the afternoon.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI think there is a cave in there…would love to investigate one day

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Storms River Mouth suspension bridge…

Leave a Reply

