Chinspot batis…

I had never noticed this tiny bird before it landed inside my view finder. I had no idea what it was…the answer came back from my FB friend Terry Dawson….”Yes a female Chinspot batis for sure. The male has a black band and no spot. Both the Mozambique and the Cape batis are very similar, but you being in Matroublieland, Frankie, they are geographically excluded.”

Many thanks for clearing that one up, Terry!

 

Chinspot batisShe flew off a short way, and I managed to get her back end…

Chinspot batisThis is a tiny little bird, maybe not even five centimeters tall

Then a week or so ago, I got this shot of the male: note, no brown spot!

2 thoughts on “Chinspot batis…

Leave a Reply

