Guinea fowl…

Usually, when I take my camera out, I get one decent picture. I took this one driving through Jabulani, on the way back from Nalatale Ruins in Shangani. It’s the first time I’ve really been thankful for the electric windows on the Hilux. I was driving too fast as usual, came around the corner and thought I was too late.Guinea fowl

I slid the window down, cringing at the loud noise, balanced the camera on the rear view mirror…

There are lots of things I love about this photo – the characteristic way the guinea fowl are standing on the log – the late evening light…I was racing because I wanted to get to the top of the range near DhloDhlo ruins – I wanted a shot of the sunset from up there, where you can see the Matopos on a clear day, Idunnohowmany kilometers away!

I’m happy to swap this photograph though…I’m sure you will all agree with me, I have plenty sunsets in my collection!

If ever you are here in Zimbabwe, add Nalatale Ruins to your itinerary – you can stay at Jabulani Safari’s close by…  http://jabulanizimbabwe.com  I’ve never stayed there myself, only visited when they were building it…but my niece did, for her school camp and she raved about it. So I’m guessing its “children friendly.”

3 thoughts on “Guinea fowl…

Leave a Reply

